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Florida Department of Health in Volusia County
Irrigation Contractor Packet

The application fee of $25.00 must accompany this application. This fee is NOT refundable and non-
transferable after the application has been entered into our records. All checks should be made
payable to “Florida Department of Health in Volusia County”.

Florida Department of Health in Volusia County
Environmental Health Bin 180

Irrigation Contractor Licensing Division
121 W. Rich Avenue

Deland, FL 32720

386-624-0483

Please read carefully the following requirements and qualifications to receive an Irrigation Contractor
Competency Card from the Florida Department of Health in Volusia County.
Testing: The applicant shall submit to a written examination which shall be prepared, graded and

proctored by Thomson/Prometric www.prometric.com, to test the qualifications of the applicant to
perform the installation and repair of pumps, pumping equipment and irrigation systems in Volusia
County. In order to be eligible for certification, the applicant shall obtain a passing grade of 75% or
higher on the required examination and a passing grade of 75% or higher on the two hour Business
and Law examination

Application: A completed application form for certificate of competency shall be submitted to the Florida
Department of Health in Volusia County on the Department’s approved form.

Experience: The applicant must demonstrate a minimum of two (2) years of experience in the
installation and repair of pumps and irrigation systems gained through working with a licensed pump
and irrigation contractor, well driller or plumbing contractor.

Insurance: Proof of valid general liability and property damage insurance and worker's compensation or
exemption must be submitted to this Department prior to issuance of the certificate of competency. A
minimum of one hundred thousand ($100,000.00) property damage coverage and twenty five thousand
($25,000.00) general liability insurance coverage must be demonstrated. The “Certificate Holder” must
state the Florida Department of Health in Volusia County.

Continuing Education Units: Twelve continuing education credits must be completed biennially to
maintain the validity of a certificate of competency. Continuing education courses must be approved
by the Department to be eligible for credit.

Duration of Certificates: All certificates of competency issued provided herein, are biennial certificates
and will expire on September 30 of odd numbered years. Certificates may be renewed for the ensuing
two year term without written examination through September of an odd numbered year, upon proper
and timely application to the Department. A photocopy of all insurances listed above must accompany
the renewal application. Proof of Continuing Education Units must also accompany the renewal
application.

Completion: Upon successful completion of the Thomson/Prometric Exam, and other required
application information, the applicant will be issued a competency card to perform irrigation contracting
work in Volusia County.


https://25,000.00
https://100,000.00
www.prometric.com
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Florida Department of Health in Volusia County
Application for Irrigation Contractor Competency Card

Non-refundable application fee: $25

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE:

NAME

COMPANY (optional)

RESIDENCE

Street name City State Zip
MAILING ADDRESS

Street name City State Zip
RESIDENCE PHONE NO (_)__ - D.O.B / / S.S# - -

CURRENT EMPLOYER

EMPLOYMENT PHONENO () __ - FAX#( _)

EMAIL ADDRESS:

If you have pursued any line of study or extension courses, state fully:

Year Name of School Course Name

Length of Study or Degree

Do you now hold any current/unexpired Certificate of Competency from any city or county in Florida?

No Yes (if yes, please list:)

Class City or County

Date Acquired Block Exam
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Florida Department of Health in Volusia County
Application for Irrigation Contractor Competency Card

Employment/Experience Record
Begin with current or most recent (If self-employed, so state)

From To Employer Name Employer Address Position

If additional space is heeded, please use an additional sheet of paper.

Applicants must submit notarized affidavit(s) from their current and/or former employers attesting to the

required minimum two (2) years’ experience.

Name three (3) or more recognized individuals practicing in the trade who know your qualifications.

Name Address Occupation Phone

| certify that the foregoing statements of experience and all statements therein are true and correct to the best of
my knowledge and belief.

Applicant’s Signature

State of ) County of
Affirmed and subscribed before me this day of , by

who is personally known to me or has produced as identification.
(Type of ID)

Signature of Notary Public Print, Type or Stamp Name of Notary
Notarial Seal

This application will not be considered by the Florida Department of Health in Volusia County
unless it is completed in its entirety




