

APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD

Florida Department of Health - Volusia County Office of Vital Statistics

Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 – 4:45 (Daytona Beach)
Monday – Friday 8:30 – 4:45 closed 12:00 – 12:30 for lunch (Orange City & New Smyrna Beach)

All Florida Death Records are available from 2009 to current year.

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification, front & back, must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see Eligibility on the back of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death. If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this application.

Acceptable forms of valid ID are driver's license, state identification card, passport, and/or military ID card. When requesting a death certification without cause of death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.

				ECEDENT INFO		<u> </u>		SUFFIX	
NAME OF DECEDENT		FIRS	Т	MIDDLE			LAST		
ALIAS NAME (IF APPLICABLE)					IF N	MARRIED FEMALE, MA	AIDEN SURNAMI	E (if known) SEX	
DATE OF DEATH	MONTH	DAY	YEAR (4-DIGIT)		ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED (Required <u>only</u> when exact year of death is <u>not</u> known)			Indicate the <u>range of years</u> to be searched	
PLACE OF DEATH	PLACE OF DEATH CITY (NWN	/N PLACE OF DEATH COUNT			ATE FILE NUMBER (if known)	
NAME OF SURVIVING SPOUSE AS RECORDED ON DEATH RECORD (if applicable and if known)		FIRS	Т	MIDDLE			LAST SUFFIX		
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (if known)				FUNERAL HOME NAME (if known)					
IMPORTANT INFORMATION Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.									
SECTION B: APPLICANT INFORMATION									
If requesting cause of death, all applicants must state their relationship to the decedent; if a funeral director or an attorney, you must enter the relationship of the person you represent. Eligibility requirements are provided on the back of this form.									
Applicant's Name TYPE OR PRINT	FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT							APPLICANT	
HOME PHONE NUMBER	MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF A					PLICABLE) RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT			
ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER ()	CI					STATE		ZIP CODE	
Funeral Director/Attorney as Applic for Cause of Death Information	ant ^L	ICENSE/ BAF	RNUMBER	NAME OF PERSO	N REPRESE	NTED and	THEIR RELATI	ONSHIP TO DECEDENT	
OFOTION O OFFITION TO THE									
SECTION C: CERTIFICATES AND FEES									
				Cos	<u>t</u>	Quantity		Total Cost	
Certified Copy With Ca (Restrictions apply. See eligibility	orm.)	\$8.00	0 x		=	\$			
Certified Copy Without	th	\$8.00	0 x		=	\$			
Expedited Processing (Optional): \$10.00 (Only available for applications received by mail. See reverse side of form for instructions.)								\$	
Overnight Delivery (Op (See reverse side of form for instr	\$15.00	,			\$				
Shipping & Handling Fee: (per application for mail request only) standard U.S. Pos				\$1.00 ivery	0			\$1.00 (mail request only)	
Death Records Search Fee (As Needed): (Only applicable for search when year of death unknown.)			ed):	\$3.50			=	\$	
			,	TOTAL DUE	=	\$			
FOR USE BY FDOH VITAL STATISTICS OFFICIALS ONLY:									
Certificate # A				plicant ID #			Initia	Initials:	

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

ELIGIBILITY:

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following individuals:

- Decedent's spouse or parent.
- Decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age.
- Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent, OR
- Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above-named persons.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request. **SPECIAL NOTE:** Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing probate.

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names.

<u>APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE:</u> Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone number.

OPTIONS FOR EXPEDITED SERVICES (Only Available for Mailed Applications):

Expedited Processing Fee: If you want to have your application expedited, please submit your application and marked the outside of the envelope EXPEDITE with the \$10.00 expedited processing fee enclosed. If the record and application are complete and in order, the application will be processed, and the certificate(s) will be mailed via U.S. Mail by the next business day.

Overnight Delivery Fee: If you would like to have your certificate(s) returned to you via FedEx (where available, some locations require a two-day delivery which is determined by FedEx based on delivery address), please include an additional \$15.00 Overnight Delivery Fee with your application and \$10.00 expedited processing fee, for a total of \$25.00. If the record and application are complete and in order, the application will be processed and the certificate(s) sent via FedEx the same business day (where available, some locations require a two-day delivery which is determined by FedEx based on delivery address) the request was received. Adult Signature is required at time of delivery.

<u>Regular Mail Request:</u> general processing time is 7 to 10 business days for non-expedited mail request and are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid express delivery envelope is provided.

Shipping & Handling: All request received through the mail will be charged \$1.00 fee.

PAYMENT OPTIONS FOR SERVICES:

Payments made with mailed in request: If you are sending your

request to this office, payments accepted are money order or

check (starter checks are not acceptable). Please make your payment

out to the following: Florida Department of Health - Volusia County or FDOH - Volusia County.

Please do not send cash through the mail.

Payments made in person: If you are coming into the Vital Statistics

Office to request your certificate, payments accepted are cash, credit/debit.

cards (all major credit cards are accepted, debit cards must be Visa or Master Card), money order and checks.

(starter checks are not acceptable).

Please make your payment out to the following: Florida Department of Health – Volusia County or FDOH – Volusia County.

Mailing address: Florida Department of Health - Volusia County

Office of Vital Statistics - Bin #102

P.O. Box 9190

Daytona Beach, FL 32120

Telephone #: 386-274-0614

Website: volusia.floridahealth.gov

DH 1961 10/15 64V-1.0131, Florida Administrative Code (Obsoletes previous editions)