

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA BIRTH RECORD

Florida Department of Health - Volusia County

Daytona Beach

New Smyrna Beach

Orange City

8 AM to 4:45 PM

8:30 AM to 4:45 PM

8:30 AM to 4:45 PM

Lunch - open

Lunch Noon - 12:30

Lunch Noon - 12:30

(Florida Birth Records are available for 1930 to current year)

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Requirement for ordering: If applicant is self, parent, guardian, or legal representative, then the applicant must complete this application and provide valid photo identification, if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification must be provided. If applicant is not one of the above, the Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate must be completed by an authorized person and submitted in addition to this application form.

Acceptable Forms of identification are the following: Driver's License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card.

SECTION A: REGISTRANT INFORMATION

CHILD'S FULL NAME AS SHOWN ON BIRTH RECORD		FIRST	FIRST		MIDDLE		LAST SUFFIX	
IF NAME WAS CHANGED SINCE BIRTH, INDICATE NEW NAME		FIRST		MIDDLE	LAST		SUFFIX	
DATE OF BIRTH	MON	ТН	DAY	YEAR (4 DIGIT)	STATE FIL	E NUMBER (If known)	SEX	
PLACE OF BIRTH	PLACE OF BIRTH		HOSPITAL		CITY OR TOWN		COUNTY	
MOTHER'S / PARENT'S NAME	HER'S / PARENT'S NAME			MIDDLE	_	LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE SUFFIX (If applicable)		
FATHER'S / PARENT'S NAME	FIRST		MIDDLE	LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE (If applicable)		GE SUFFIX		
	on or affidavit nits a felony of SECTION B	or who obta of the third de : APPLICAN	ins confidential int egree, punishable a Γ (adult requesting	certificate) INFC	ny Vital Record hapter 775, Flor DRMATION	l under false or fra ida Statutes.	audulent	
Applicant's Name TYPE OR PRINT	FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)					IGNATURE OF APPLICA	NT	
HOME PHONE NUMBER		MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APP			ABLE) RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT			
ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER			CITY	STATE		ZIP CODE		
IF ATTORNEY, PROVIDE BAR/PROFESSIONAL LICENSE NO.		LICENSE	/ BAR NUMBER	NAME OF PERSO	ON REPRESENTED	and THEIR RELAT REGISTR		
		CER	TIFICATES AND		Ougaitu	Τ.	tal Can	
Cortified Conv		Cost \$15.00		Quanity 1	_	tal Cos \$15.00		
Certified Copy: Additional Certified Copy (Optional):			\$8.00	x	!	= <u> </u>	\$13.00	
(per copy. Must be same registra Expedited Processing (C	ptional):	noil Coo roy	\$10.00	for instructions	`	=		
Only available for applications rong of the comment	onal):	iaii. See iev	\$10.00	IOI IIISHUCHONS.)	=		
Protective Sleeve (Option		\$3.00 To	X otal Amount [Due:	. = <u> </u>			
FOR USE BY FDOH VITAL STA	ATISTICS OF	FFICIALS OI	NLY:					
Certificate #:			Application ID	#:		Initials	3 :	

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR BIRTH RECORD APPLICATION

COMPUTER CERTIFICATION: computer certifications are accepted by all state and federal agencies and used for any type of

A computer certification has two different formats:

- **1.** A certification of a registered birth (2004 to present), supplies the following facts of birth: Child's Name, Date of Birth, Sex, Time, Weight, Place of Birth (City, County and Location) and Parents' Information.
- **2.** A certification of a registered birth (1930 to 2003), supplies the following facts of birth: Child's Name, Date of Birth, Sex, County of Birth and Parents' Name.

AVAILABILITY: Birth registration was not required by state law until 1917, but there are some records on file dating back to 1865.

ELIGIBILITY: Birth certificates can be issued only to:

- 1. Registrant (the child named on the record) if of legal age (18)
- 2. Parent(s) listed on the Birth Record
- **3.** Legal guardian (must provide guardianship papers)
- **4.** Legal representative of one of the above persons
- 5. Other person(s) by court order (must provide recorded or certified copy of court order)

In the case of a deceased registrant, upon receipt of the death certificate of the decedent, a certification of the birth certificate can be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or to the legal representative of any of these persons as well as to the parent.

Any person of legal age may be issued a certified copy of a birth record (except for those birth records under seal) for a birth event that occurred over 100 years ago.

BIRTH RECORDS UNDER SEAL: Birth records under seal by reason of adoption, paternity determination or court order cannot be ordered in the usual manner. For a record under seal, write to:

OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS
ATTN: Records Amendment Section
P.O. BOX 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING: If applicant is self, parent, legal guardian or legal representative, the applicant must provide a completed application along with valid photo identification, if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification must be provided. If legal guardian, a copy of the appointment orders must be included with the request. If legal representative, the attorney bar number, and a notation of whom the attorney represents and that person's relationship to the registrant must be included with your request. If you are an agent of local, state or federal agency requesting a record, indicate in the space provided for "relationship" the name of the agency. Acceptable forms of identification are the following: **Driver's License**, **State Identification Card**, **Passport** and/or **Military Identification Card**.

If not one of the above, you must complete this application and have a notarized Affidavit to Release A Birth Certificate (DH 1958, 2/03) submitted with your application for the birth record along with a copy of the *registrant*'s valid photo identification as well as the *applicant*'s valid photo identification.

RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT: A person ordering his or her own certificate should enter "SELF" in this space. Also, explain if name has been changed; married name, name changed legally (when and where), etc. Others must identify themselves clearly as eligible (see ELIGIBILITY above).

NONREFUNDABLE: Vital record fees are nonrefundable.

<u>APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE</u>: Is required, as well as his/her printed name, residence address and telephone number

OPTIONS FOR EXPEDITED SERVICES (only available for mailed applications):

Expedited Processing Fee: If you want to have your application expedited, please mark the outside of your envelope EXPEDITE with the \$10.00 expedited processing fee enclosed. If the record and application are complete and in order, the application will be processed and the certificate(s) mailed via U.S. Mail by the next business day.

Overnight Delivery Fee: If you would like to have your certificate(s) returned to you via FedEx (where available, some locations require a two-day delivery which is determined by FedEx based on delivery address), please include an additional \$10.00 Overnight Delivery fee with your application and \$10.00 expedited processing fee, for a total of \$20.00. If the record and application are complete and in order, the application will be processed and the certificate(s) sent via FedEx on the same business day the request was received.

Adult signature is required at time of delivery.

Regular Mail Request: general processing time is 7 to 10 business days for non-expedited mail request.

PAYMENT OPTIONS FOR SERVICES: Mailing Address: Florida Department of Health - Volusia County

Mail in request: Checks (starter checks are not accepted) or Money Order

payable to Florida Department of Health - Volusia County

Website: www.volusiahealth.com/certificates Telephone #: 386-274-0614

DH 1960, 4/2016 64V-1.0131, Florida Administrative Code (Obsoletes Previous Editions)

Office of Vital Statistics - Bin #102

P.O. Box 9190

Daytona Beach, FL 32120